Back From Basel

I just returned from Art Basel Miami Beach, and while I am completely exhausted, I had such a great time. Though I was only there for a few days, I managed to cover a lot of territory – I saw a TON of amazing art, met some great people, and ate some delicious food! In two days I was able to hit the three big private collections (Rubell, Margulies, de la Cruz), Art Basel Miami Beach (the main fair), Design Miami, Overture, Scope, UNTITLED., Art Miami, CONTEXT at Art Miami, and The Bass Museum. Not familiar with the 20+ art fairs Miami has to offer during Art Basel? HuffPo has an incredibly helpful article explaining the differences through high school stereotypes here.

I also had the opportunity to attend parties at the homes of private collectors, and seeing how people display art in their personal spaces is always a great experience. While I cannot possibly recount everything I saw, I will be dedicating posts this week to some of my favorite pieces.

Check back soon!

me splatter

Photo: Me in my Lisa Perry Splatter tank (available here) standing inside Randy Polumbo’s Love Stream #2, 2012 at Art Public in collaboration with The Bass Museum

Leave a Reply

