Happy Socks + Curtis Kulig

I love Sundays. Particularly Sundays during which I sleep in, make a big breakfast, and then curl up on the couch with a big cup of coffee and The New York Times. My standard outfit while completing the aforementioned routine is a big fluffy bathrobe and socks. Yes, socks. I always wear socks around my apartment because 1. I swear I have no circulation in my extremities and 2. I just feel more cozy and relaxed wearing them. Thus, I get really excited whenever I see cute, creative ones.

Within this context, you can better understand my excitement over a new artist and fashion brand collaboration between Sweden-based Happy Socks and American artist Curtis Kulig. Kulng started his artistic career working for Shepard Fairey as a teenager, and has since made a name for himself in the art world, most known for his raw, black and white lifestyle and portraiture photography, as well as his iconic “Love Me” campaign. The artist is no stranger to collaborations, having worked with brands such as Nike, Smashbox Cosmetics, Vans, Catherine Malandrino, Obey Clothing, and Bobbi Brown in the past.

For his latest partnership with Happy Socks, Kuling incorporated his signature “Love Me” stylized script on three sock styles, just in time for Valentines Day. I cannot think of a more fitting, perfect present for a holiday I generally find [unfortunate, cheesy, forced, insert like-minded adjective here]. Hopefully my husband will take this subtle hint and skip the card and chocolates this year.

Valentine's Day-ready socks

Valentine’s Day-ready socks from Happy Socks + Curtis Kulig

HappySocksLoveMe-007-540x360

Two of the styles from the collaboration

The artist next to one of his notorious Love Me paintings

The artist next to one of his notorious Love Me paintings

Love Me Eye Shadow Palette from the Spring 2013 collaboration with Smashbox Cosmetics

Love Me Eye Shadow Palette from Kulig’s Spring 2013 collaboration with Smashbox Cosmetics

Leave a Reply

